Why I Write?

Abhishek Verma
3 min readMar 18, 2020
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

I wake up every morning, not at the same time, albeit, which irks me. Every single thing on the Internet and the Indian galore of knowledge and spirituality says that wake up at the same time in the morning. Indian knowledge tells it as niyama and Internet says it as taking control of your morning.

Structure. Routine. Discipline.

Up to the time, I did schooling, I was as fucking perfect as a clock to follow my schedule and that reaped me the awards. Stepping into a college with dreams wide open to the universe and a heart un-shattered by the tumultuous happening of the big, bad world, I vowed to myself to not be the boring pseudo-valedictorian I used to be in my initial years.

What was supposed to be metamorphosis ended up marring my chances of being so-called “popular” in college and so, I returned back to the shell, this time, albeit without the perfect inner workings of a clock.

So, like a ship lost at the Cape of Good Hope, I was there with less hope of the future and the present debilitating existence of the present.

5 years, 1825 days, 43800 minutes, 2628000 seconds, I was in a daze filled with memories bittersweet and effort mediocre. Results I reaped because of that are much greater than I had hoped to be.

They say a fool with a plan can win the battle of life, but then what about the…

--

--